What I’m reading: Pedagogy of the Oppressed

“A revolutionary leadership must practice co-intentional education. Teacher and students (leadership and people), co-intent on reality, are both Subjects, not only in the task of unveiling that reality, and thereby coming to know it critically, but in the task of re-creating that knowledge. As they attain this knowledge of reality through common reflection and action, they discover themselves as its permanent re-creators. In this way, the presence of the oppressed in the struggle for their liberation will be what it should be: not pseudo-participating, but committed involvement.” – Paulo Freire

Pedagogy of the Oppressed is complex and requires a thorough, patient read. I’d highly recommend it to educators, community organizers, community leaders, those dissatisfied with the current state of things, those questioning self and society and to those interested in any form of public service.

I suspect that this book will weave itself into my reflections to come.

About Ranjodh Singh
I'm currently an Ally in the Public Allies New York Apprenticeship (www.publicallies.org). Through the apprenticeship, I'm partnered with NYCRx (www.nyxrc.org), a nonprofit organization that improves the health of New Yorkers using public health interventions. I'm excited to continue serving, but doing so closer to health and medicine. I'm also enjoying NYC, which I find to be an enriching environment.

2 Responses to What I’m reading: Pedagogy of the Oppressed

  1. shannonf22 says:

    Hi Ranjodh, I have also found this text to be a central foundation of my educational philosophy. I was first exposed to Friere’s work in my graduate program (Student Affairs in Higher Education). I find myself re-reading passages, but each time there is a new idea or thought that empowers me. Hope all is well! You seem to be doing very exciting things!

  2. Hi Shannon, So nice to hear from you 🙂

    I’m happy that you’re also interested in education. Education, not to be confused with schooling, plays a fundamental role irrespective of the work we do. There are two books that changed my views of education: (1) Totto-Chan: The Little Girl at the Window by Tetsuko Kuroyanagi and (2) The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Expuery. If you already haven’t read these, I’d highly recommend them.

    love,
    ranjodh

Leave a Reply

